Thu 13 May - Mon 17 May

The Celestial City

Kristiina Poska
13 May
17 May

Sibelius | Valse Triste Op. 44
Rautavaara | Concerto voor vogels 'Cantus Arcticus'
Vaughan Williams | Symfonie nr. 5 'Symphony of the Celestial City’

Following security measures against the spread of Covid 19, these concerts will not take place.

In 1943, Vaughan Williams’ Fifth Symphony offered a glimpse of the peace everyone was craving for: a temporary victory of softly undulating lines. Or maybe a heavenly city. Rautavaara’s Cantus Arcticus, a dialogue between bird sounds and orchestra, also testifies to the longing for a mystic peace. Together with the Revue Blanche chamber music ensemble, composer Annelies Van Parys paints a completely new tableau, based on the work of Rautavaara and Vaughan Williams.

A dialogue between bird sounds and orchestra


Einojuhani Rautavaara 1928–2016 | Concerto for birds & orchestra
~ ‘Cantus Arcticus’
Annelies Van Parys °1975 | Creatie
Ralph Vaughan Williams 1872–1958 | Symphony No. 5
~ ‘Symphony of the Celestial City’


We use cookies and similar techniques to analyze the use of the website, to make it possible to display third-party content such as videos, and for various other applications. These cookies are also placed by third parties. By clicking “Yes, I accept”, you agree. If you do not agree, you can specify your preferences via the "Adjust settings" button. More information…

  • Cookies are required for the website to function properly. This way the content of your shopping cart will be remembered during the order and you can log in on the website with your account.
  • Cookies are also needed to enrich your experience on the website. For example, media from third parties such as videos. We also keep statistics to continuously improve the site.
  • Finally, cookies are used to process further information about our marketing activities, such as newsletters and advertisements, in the most efficient and personal way.

Cookie settings