Dubbel Brahms

Kristiina Poska | Lorenzo Gatto & Pieter Wispelwey
3 Oct
18 Oct

W. Stenhammar | Intermezzo from 'Sängen', opus 44
J. Brahms | Concerto for violin & violincello, opus 102
J. Brahms | Second Symphony, opus 73

For the very first time, Lorenzo Gatto and Pieter Wispelwey are brought together on stage in Brahms’ magnificent Double Concerto. Guaranteed to send sparks flying, especially if Kristiina Poska holds the baton. For his Second Symphony, a relaxed Brahms freely allowed himself to be inspired by the beautiful nature that sur­ rounded his Austrian holiday home. An Intermezzo by Stenhammar, also called the ‘Swedish Brahms’, completes the picture.

Een tour de force met viool en cello

Inaugural concert of Kristiina Poska, new chief conductor

As from the concert season 2019-20, Kristiina Poska will become the new chief conductor of the Flanders Symphony Orchestra. Internationally renowned Poska, born in Türi, Estonia, made her successful first appearance with the Flanders Symphony Orchestra this season, when she conducted a programme with work by Stulens, Beethoven, and Schubert. She will follow in the footsteps of, among others, Seikyo Kim and Jan Latham-Koenig. Read more >>


Wilhem Stenhammar 1871-1927 | Intermezzo from 'Sängen', opus 44
Johannes Brahms 1833-1897 | Concerto for violin & violincello, opus 102
Johannes Brahms 1833-1897 | Second Symphony, opus 73 


Lorenzo Gatto


Pieter Wispelwey

soloist cello

Cookies gebruikt cookies om zijn webdiensten te verbeteren.
Meer informatie